The City of Parkland Charter requires that the City be divided into four (4) Commission districts. The districts are drawn as nearly as is practicable, on an equal population basis by contiguous boundaries. Every four years the City is required to retain a consultant for the purpose of creating at least two redistricting plans for consideration by the City Commission. The purpose of redistricting is to balance the populations of the four member districts and ensure that residents have equal representation on the City Commission.

On October 16, 2019, the members of the City Commission adopted new Commission Districts.